When I placed all my things on eBay for the auction, there were a lot of items I considered to be family heirlooms. My family also considered them to be heirlooms. I was the custodian for future generations, keeping these “priceless” items for the next generation.

When my parents expressed dismay at the auction, I told them they could bid on the items if they wanted them. No one did.

I was reminded of this experience when I read two posts later. One was an article in the Washington Post about millennials not wanting their baby boomer parents’ things. The other was in the Minimalism Facebook group for Phoenix where a woman posted the same thing: her parents had given her china that she didn’t want or have room for.

Generational differences are important to keep in mind when gifting items and deciding whether to accept gifts from parents, grandparents, or other older family members.

 

 

