I am currently losing money on my retirement accounts. Not because the portfolio itself is losing value on the market. No, I am losing money because of fees.

Since I work as a contract employee and adjunct instructor, I have four different 401k accounts as well as a Roth IRA.

Account 1, which is from my current employer, has cost me $39 since March. The return on my investment over this period is $36. Part of the issue is I get paid weekly, and thus my contributions are made on a weekly basis. Each week costs money. In addition, the employer charges $7.33/month in fees to provide the plan. So even though I chose Index Mutual Funds with low fees, a low rate of return and multiple fees eats into my retirement.

Account 2,which is from a previous employer, has no fees from the employer. Crappy employer, better plan.

 

